Leaders, Strengths

Humble Leaders are the Best Leaders

Scripture says that the last will be first and the first will be last (Matthew 19:30).  

That doesn’t sound like a great solution when we’re sitting in traffic or waiting in line at a busy store when we know that there are only minutes till we have to be walking in the door of our next appointment.

Humility may not be a quality high on the list when looking for a new leader.  Ideally, it would be great for a leader to be confident not humiliating themselves.  Leaders are strong and not wimpy.  Wimpy is where the humiliating part comes in, right?

Wrong!

Humbleness is confirmed in Scripture.  Humble yourselves before the Lord and He will exalt you (James 4:10).  You may respond to this by saying that your leader isn’t going before the Lord so I have nothing to worry about.  They’re going to be lead by you!  While that is all well and true as we lead others it’s important that even though we want confident leaders we don’t want over-powering and ego-focused leaders.

I know from my experience that when leaders around me got full of themselves I backed off and didn’t push forward.  My personality isn’t pushy.  So when someone pushes me, unless I feel convicted by my opposing stance, I will more than likely be pushed.  I then feel like I’m pushed out of the equation.

You may have had this same experience in your life.  You become content with doing your thing in your area, but you don’t offer advice or present new ideas.  You understand it in your mind and settle for the fact that they had it figured out and even though you may not agree with this reality.  You aren’t able to ask clarifying questions because their exertion of power seems to trample over you.  You have then fallen to a state of contentment.  Humility is not settling for second best, but believing, through conviction in your heart, that your perspective is correct.

How do I balance confidence with humility?

As a follower of Christ, I find my confidence in the gifts and strengths that God has given me and realize that the opportunities in front of me are orchestrated from Him.  Humility happens when there’s a leader opens up about a weakness to build an emotional connection with the person so that they can understand that we all don’t have it figured out.  Everyone is learning.  When we learn we make mistakes; when we make mistakes we remember that we are growing; we are growing when we are learning.

What does it look like for you?  Are you over-powering, not asking for anyone’s input because you’re the only person that knows anything?  Or are you learning from every experience so that you can continue to grow in your leadership and be an example for others.  Ask for feedback from others because you are continually growing and building on your strengths.

Leave a Reply

